Understanding what is legal and what is not legal when it comes to marijuana in Nevada is an important first step for medical patients and adult consumers alike. That’s why we ask you to be MYNDFUL of the do’s and don’ts of consuming marijuana here in the Silver State.
SCROLL DOWN TO LEARN MORE
There are no workplace protections provided under Nevada’s current medical marijuana law. If your company prohibits marijuana, you can be reprimanded or fired should you test positive and it should not be consumed at or in your place of employment.
It is illegal to travel with marijuana, even if you have a medical marijuana patient card and purchased it legally at a dispensary. It is also illegal to ship medical marijuana through the U.S. Postal Service, even if you have a patient card.
Driving impaired, whatever the substance, is also illegal. At this time, the same laws that apply to driving under the influence of alcohol apply to driving under the influence of marijuana.
If you recently consumed marijuana in any form, you should not drive or operate heavy machinery for 6 to 8 hours or more. If using heavier or stronger, more concentrated edibles, you may need a longer time period because Everone’s body processes and metabolizes marijuana differently, which means your body may feel the effects for a longer or shorter period and could depend on: the frequency in which you consume marijuana, whether you had an empty stomach, just ate a meal – or if you’re properly hydrated. Play it safe and take an Uber/Lyft/taxi or walk if you’re not 100% sure. It’s not worth it and you don’t want to be driving impaired!
Be clear about penalties and violations to our current marijuana laws, which include fines, misdemeanor charges and felonies, depending on the violation. Public consumption is a $600 fine for the first offense.
By following the letter of the law, we can continue to garner the support we need from our community, local government and state government. Join us in being MYNDFUL in promoting the responsible, lawful consumption of marijuana in Nevada.
Keep out of reach of children, and for use only by adults 21 of age and older. © 2017 MYNDFUL NV.